Tags

, , ,

In trying to post this, I’ve had to reboot my computer three times to get the wireless to come back. This involves a certain loss of work, the waste of about three minutes per reboot, and however much time it takes for me to stop being completely and totally frustrated.

(In case anyone with technical skills reads this, sometimes at random intervals for no apparent reason my computer will go offline and the only thing that will restore the connection is a computer reboot. It only happens on one network and is not apparently tied to my proximity to the router, traffic on my computer, household traffic, particular combinations of tasks, or time of day. It’s pretty much random. My computer apparently sucks. If anyone has any idea what’s going on or how to fix it, please let me know.)

But in the meantime, this is something that I have to deal with and work around.
I’m ninety percent sure that I already wrote about this, but it’s worth repeating. Some things aren’t worth getting worked up about. They’re worth investigating and devoting a small amount of time to fixing them, but if I throw a hissy fit over the umpteenth reboot, the wireless wins. I don’t want the wireless to win. I want to crush it with a giant anvil and then electrocute it and then dump whatever remains in a swamp.

Ahem. But that’s besides the point.

Some things cannot presently be changed, so I just have to live with it, and sometimes maneuver around it, and keep moving on with my day so the annoying little computer program terrorists don’t emerge victorious over my life and work. It’s taken effort to get over this, especially since it keeps happening.

Sure, it’s not something serious. But I think that’s what makes it all the more annoying because isn’t it the small things that aggravate the most? If I’m writing about someone who’s been seriously stabbed, I’ll remark on the pain, but half the time the character will hone in on the drip of blood or an itch. The little thing, that makes the moment all the more real.

So basically this counts as writing experience. It also counts as life experience, something that sooner or later, for some reason or another, we all have to learn. I can’t sweat the small stuff or I’ll get seriously dehydrated.

What’s your annoying little cross to bear? How do you deal with it?

