Tags

, , , ,

Well, I’ve made a huge mistake. But it’s okay, I can fix it. See, I read this article about a big mistake someone made creating their writing website. (And this is someone who has made a career out of helping authors build a platform, so if she says it’s a mistake it’s something to at least consider.) This mistake is to start with a free website.

The argument is that if I actually make something of myself (as I intend) some day I will need to transfer all the platform that has been built on this website to the paid one with more resources and functions, and I will lose some audience. The blog post also points to a number of resources and possibilities that would make it easier for one cash-strapped (such as myself) to make creating a paid website doable.

On one hand, it’s good to have resources like this blog I’ve referenced, and the stuff referenced in the post itself. And this is undoubtedly good advice. Can’t deny it.

On the other hand, seeing this gives me major anxiety because I totally made this mistake and how badly have I set back my writing career? OH NO!!! Well, sort of, but it did cause me to take a few hours to look up things related to starting a new blog. (Again. This is my third blog, by the way.)

Plus, if I’m making this mistake, and I know I’m a nincompoop when it comes to some things, what other mistakes could I be making? What future problems will I face because I just don’t know what I’m doing? What blogs or books should I be reading, what courses should I be taking? What should I be doing to ensure the perfect start to my writing career.

Ha. That right there is where the freak-out ends, because there’s no such thing as a perfect start.

So on the other (third) hand, it’s also good to know that you can make “serious” mistakes like that and still recover and do well. As gnarly an error as the author states this problem to be, she’s still doing really well. She’s got a well-read blog, a bunch of books, and is considered an expert in her topic. She admits it took time to build up her career, and that there was a learning curve involved.

I have made and will make mistakes, and panicking won’t help me gain the knowhow to avoid them. My two choices are to freeze up and stop altogether, afraid of future mistakes, or else keep going and do my best. So I’m going to keep plugging on. I’m even going to ignore the advised change of venue as put in that blog post, because I don’t think it’s a good place to start for me. This could be a good choice or a bad one. Time will tell.

Either way, it’s okay. Not the end of the world. Can’t let fear rule me. Someday I’ll make it.

What kind of mistakes are you afraid of making? Trust me, I won’t judge. Same boat, remember?

Blog post I read (also linked above): http://authorkristenlamb.com/2017/03/mistakes-were-made-the-high-cost-of-free/

