Tags

, , , ,

This is an announcement of a change of pace.

I’m not sure what I’m doing with this blog exactly. I have yet to find my niche, both in terms of what I can write about and what people will read about. Also, I’m not good at SEO or any of that, and it’s something I need to work on. On top of that, I’m tired and I’m not getting my writing done and something’s got to change before I burn out.

To that end, I’ll be lowering my posting schedule to once a week for the near future. This will give me more time to write each post, which should in turn improve the quality of said posts, and should give me more time to devote to learning how to blog. There’s also updating the site and making that better, which has fallen by the wayside because, hey, I’m putting up posts and that’s all I’ve had the energy for anyway. This gives extra energy and time I can use to that.

There are basically two items on my to-do list for figuring out this blog. First is working out a posting schedule, and figuring out which days to blog about which topics. (This in turn involves figuring out what topics I want to blog about in general, which is a whole other pain in the neck but it’s important so it’s happening.) Second is reorganizing the categories. One thing successful blogs do is link back to previous (relevant) content, which I can’t presently do because I don’t have an organizational system that actually allows me to find things (and this can’t be great for people trying to look at my posts either, such as they are). This has to come second since the system will depend in part on what I post.

In the meantime, I’ll post once a week about some writing-related topic (this does tend to consume my brain, so it’s not hard to find something to babble about). I hope I can figure out what I’m doing, but even if I don’t I’ll still at least post updates of my work and a few occasional musings. Ideally it’s a lot more than that, but we’ll see where I’m at after this brain overhaul.

Anyone have advice for figuring this out?

