Tags

, , , ,

I’ve decided to give Pitchapalooza a try this year, after doing NaNoWriMo for five straight years. You can read more about it here, with this link: Sixth Annual NaNoWriMo Pitchapalooza. I also have a handy summary for people who don’t feel like clicking a link.

Basically, Pitchapalooza is a chance to get published. I’m pretty sure it’s mainly available to those who tried their hand at NaNoWriMo, but I couldn’t find language excluding people so give it a try! You boil your book down to 250 of the most interesting words you’ve got and then submit it in the month of February. The people at The Book Doctors (the site that runs this event) then choose 25 at random and then critique them. “Critique” is becoming one of my favorite words, because it means that someone is taking a detailed look at a piece of writing. Hopefully mine, but even if not there will undoubtedly be pointers.

I need pointers. I am not good at pitch writing.

Anyhow, from those 25 a winner is chosen who will be introduced to an appropriate agent or publisher. Which is amazing! There’s also a fan-favorite who gets a free consult of their book (more of that critique stuff!). All good prizes.

Since I don’t know much about pitch writing, I can’t really write much about it here. So I’ll get back to it in a month or so after having absorbed what I learn from Pitchapalooza.

As of right now, I know these 4 things:

  • It has to grab attention. This is like a movie trailer for a book, and everyone knows movie trailers are where you find the second biggest explosions.
  • But it can’t include the biggest metaphorical explosions, because there has to be a reason to read the book.
  • Showcase the important characters. To quote the website, “Make us fall in love with your hero” and “Make us hate your villain.”
  • Make every word count.

That’s what I know. That’s what I used to write my own pitch. And now I’m going to go and learn more about how to make it better. I’ll let you all know how that goes. (I’d show you what I wrote but I have a suspicion it’s not very good and I’m too embarrassed to show it until I can also show an improved version.)

Anyone else giving Pitchapalooza a try?

Save

