Tags

, , ,

Since I totally forgot to acknowledge the turning of the year in my last post, Happy New Year! Here’s hoping for publishing deals and instant overnight fame for all! (Well, maybe not all. And probably not instant. And I don’t know about you but I’m pretty sure fame would make me go absolutely bonkers)

Most people make resolutions. Even when we don’t formally write them down, we all start new years with intentions of greatness. This year will be better than last year. I’ll accomplish more. I’ll be better at something. (And so on and so forth.)

The end result tends to end up somewhere between “easily achievable” to “dream big.” I think it’s a good idea, as long as we remember the by-now-famous quote from Pirates of the Caribbean: My goals are something like this:

  • To edit Princess and the Pea (and the Fairy) at least twice
  • To query the above book (and not just a halfhearted attempt either, at least twenty people or until it gets sold)
  • Choose one other book to edit to satisfaction (relatively speaking)
  • Write and query at least 5 short stories, with the aim of getting at least two sold
  • (And a bunch of other things that have more to do with my personal life than the topic of this blog)

What do you think? Doable?

What are your goals this year?

