Tags

, , ,

Sometimes it’s just important to remind oneself why something is important, why it sets a fire in your heart and a fever in your head. It’s especially a good thing at the end of the year, when we start thinking about all those things we meant to do and just starting to figure out what goals should be set for the next year. Writing is really important to me, and here’s why.

  • I love stories
  • Creating worlds is the best
  • Getting into the heads of different types of characters is a great excuse to look at things from a different point of view
  • It’s an escape
  • It lets me explain myself about things I’m afraid to address verbally
  • It’s a form of expression I’m fully comfortable in, and a skill that I’m at least confident that I don’t suck (which is to say I know I’m not perfect, but I’m pretty good at this)
  • Writing is something that I continually fall back to when I look to fill free time
  • The feel of the keyboard, the sound of pencil scratching on paper, a highlighter squeaking over words, I love it all
  • The tantalizing prospect of someday seeing my name on a bestseller list (we all need dreams)
  • I can write anywhere
  • Writing doesn’t have to involve other people if I don’t want it to
  • But mainly, I love writing because it’s a way to get all that churns around in my head out to where someone else can understand me

I love writing, in almost every stage of the process (barring marketing, but that’s an introvert thing and anyway it doesn’t seem to involve much writing so it shouldn’t count). I don’t know what I’d do without being able to set pen to paper and fingers to keyboard.

How about you? What about writing draws you in and keeps you coming back? Barring that, what do you love doing that it’s what fires you up?

