Tags

, , ,

The initial design of a blog is important, and I honestly did not spend very long on mine. For once, I can honestly say this was not out of laziness but more because the sheer array of choices (even among the free options that are all I can afford) is bewildering. I went with the first design that caught my fancy and that’s what I’ve stuck with since then. Now it’s time to do a little better.

First up is choosing a theme, and there are so many elements to that particular basket of lizards that I’ll probably end up doing another post about that process and what I find, but for now just know that I am aware of the concept and I will be putting a good look at it. (If you don’t know, a website theme is a set of pre-coded options to format a page so that all you have to do is fill in a few labels and it looks pretty and doesn’t involve me having to learn a completely new skill set.)

Once a theme is picked, there are usually options to personalize the site and make it unique. There are a number of important design features, and I probably won’t even know what to do with them.

  1. Font
  2. Color (for example, light text on a dark background is hard to read) (oops)
  3. Images (we all like the pictures!)
  4. Menus
  5. Headers
  6. Home page features

And many more.

This post is mainly here to warn that next time you bring the site up it might be a little different. I’m planning on changing a few things, and it might take a few tries to find a theme that works and that my broke wallet can afford. The idea is that when it’s done my site will be easier to read, nice to look at, and will probably have a menu that is easier to access. (Which means that I will have to do a much better job with my other pages, but that’s a whole other animal.)

