Tags

, , , ,

Made cookies with my mom instead of writing. No regrets (other than not getting nearly enough sleep, but that’s an unrelated problem).

To prove it, here are pictures.

But now it’s time to get back to writing, and after a few days break post-NaNoWriMo, it’s really hard getting back into it. After the tremendous push, I felt justified in taking a few days off to regain equilibrium in my life and in my sleep schedule. (The former went much better than the latter.) Except that now, I’m still not writing, even though I said I would be by now.

For once, I haven’t lost the thread of my story. If anything, I needed a little time to create a decent outline for the next scene so it wouldn’t ramble so much. Puzzle creation is not my strong suit. Having taken the time, I feel more confident that I can write the scene successfully.

The problem is simply energy. For starters, I lost a lot in November and I still haven’t gotten it all back. There’s also quite a few demands on my time and energy that weren’t there in November (socialization with actual human beings, the things I put off for a month, cookie baking). I still feel sapped, and I don’t think it’s going away anytime soon.
So being the kind of person that I am, rather than sit down and work on my novel, I wrote a list of all the things I’m going to do to regain my writing mojo. (It’s a short list, because that energy is still not contributing a whole lot.)

  1. Sleep more.
  2. Get the writing done first.
  3. Less Netflix.
  4. Reclaim weekends for writing downtime, so I can catch up if I fall behind or just relax my poor brain.
  5. Eat cookies.

So, who’s with me? (Not with the writing stuff, the cookies. Holiday baking is the best!)

