Tags

, , , , , ,

Only two more days before NaNoWriMo starts, and my schedule needs some serious reworking if I’m going to make my word count this month. On one hand, I’m part time employed and the rest of my time is already spent writing, so it’s just a matter of cutting out that writing to make room for this writing. On the other hand, while I’m not getting paid for most of that other writing I am seriously working toward getting published and if I lose too much momentum on those edits I might never get it back and this process will take even longer than it already has. So it’s a matter of being very, very careful about which writing is important and which writing needs to be put aside, at least for the time being.

Me being me, I like lists, so this means it’s time to go through and make a bunch of new lists about what can stay, what can go, and what absolutely has to get done this month anyway.

There’s the not-important things, like the family trees I play around with, or the character notes, or the fanfics. Fun to write, but not all that necessary, so they’re going to have to go. Mostly. It’s still nice to have a way to take a break. Essential, even.

There are edits to my other novels, and while those need to happen, they don’t need to happen right away. They can be deferred. Not for the whole month, but at least until the day’s word count is met. It gets pushed back, rather than ignored completely.

And then there’s the things that I’m going to keep doing regardless. Like writing short stories and looking for contests to enter and magazines to query. There’s the work that’s going into querying one of my novels. If I put that down now, I’ll never get it done.

(And this isn’t even going into the non-writing stuff, like keeping up with records and applying to babysitting jobs and finding potential copywriting gigs.)

Everyone has different priorities. I’d love to hear what yours are! What can’t you leave behind this month?

In the meantime…

It’s the final countdown! (Duh-duh da da…)

Save

