Tags

, , , ,

This. Book. Will. Not. Finish! Seriously. It’s getting annoying. I can’t even figure out who’s holding the MacGuffin. My characters are all in place, they’re ready to get this thing started, and I can’t decide what to do next.

Honestly, it’s disconcerting. Most of my other books I’ve started them with at least a vague idea of how things are supposed to end up, and before I’m halfway through I’ve always had a clear image of the climactic scene and what needed to happen. Getting there was usually a challenge, but I could do it.

britta-facepalm

This book is not working! Which probably means I’m going to go through a dozen different endings when I go to edit, but for now I’ll just settle for something that makes sense. And I know, in my bones, there is an ending to this story that will work. That will fill all the plot points and bring everything to its natural point of culmination.

For now, however, I am stuck writing a lot of dialog. I can’t decide what they’re supposed to do, so my characters are all explaining everything to each other, and it’s getting boring. (It doesn’t help that my other choice is to write a battle, and I’m not good at that so I’ve been avoiding it.) And I don’t even know what’s happening with my secondary villain. They barely have a role right now, which is probably why I’m having problems because they need to do something with themselves, not just stand around uselessly.

And, as is usually the case with this sort of rant, just sitting down and writing about it has triggered an idea. Not a big one, but it might be enough to get things flowing. (Of course, that’s what I thought about the last three ideas, and while they did build up the ending nicely they still ended with me being stuck.)

