Tags

, , ,

This is going to be a short post, because it’s more of a PSA, and it goes like this: if you write down a file of ideas for blog posts so they’ll be saved up for days when you don’t have so much creative thought about a particular topic, don’t lose the file. Seriously. (Guess what I just spent two hours doing?)

I have a tiny problem when it comes to naming files. When I was younger I’d go for clever or even cryptic, but fortunately I grew out of that. Now, however, something in my brain always short circuits, and while I have a perfectly good descriptive title that tells me exactly what is inside, I file it somewhere weird and when I go to search for it I come up with the wrong synonym. This wasn’t so bad when I was younger and I didn’t have quite so much writing to file through to find what I wanted.

Now I have a decade’s worth of fairly concentrated writing effort, and not all of it is where it’s supposed to be, and I can’t find what I need.

This is not always a bad thing. As I rummage virtually, I can find all kinds of fun goodies, and I usually end up with at least a few more pieces of writing in a place where I can find it again when I need it. This is good for inspiring new ideas for all sorts of writing. Of course, this writing usually has more to do with the fiction side of things rather than the nonfiction blog posts I am trying to get better at writing, but it’s still something.

All this really boils down to two concepts. First, keep a handy file with ideas for those days when you don’t feel so creative. Add to it, keep it handy, and use it whenever necessary. Second, keep your stuff organized (and when I say you, we all know I mean me). All the good writing in the world doesn’t mean anything if I can’t find it when someone asks for it. Which no one has yet, but if they did I’d be in big trouble, so maybe I’ll spend some time organizing this stuff now.

