Tags

, , ,

(Full disclosure: I wrote this post before July even began because I knew things were going to get dicey once I started work on my novel. Since I wrote it while I had NaNo on the brain and was still feeling relatively positive about the process, it seemed like a good theme. Since this is Camp NaNoWriMo, I’ll be focusing on that.)

(Read Part 1 here) (Read Part 2 here) (Read Part 3 here)

One of the greatest reasons to do Camp NaNoWriMo is the fact that there are actual rewards involved beyond the whole satisfaction-of-writing-a-whole-book thing. Which I love, but it gets to be work and it’s nice to have a few tangible rewards. First reward is the certificate. You can fill it out, have something to remind you what you’re capable of in an official-looking format.

After that, there’s coupons. Full NaNoWriMo has a bigger range, but it’s also a little harder so that’s fair. Depending on the sponsors for the month, there are deals on books, a free hard copy of your book from a publishing service, discounts on writing tools, and so on. It’s a good way to check out cool writing tools (my personal favorite is Scrivener!). Writing is not necessarily a big money maker. Coupons are our friend.

With regards to a platform, there are also sometimes deals on editing services and critique sites. Writing the book can get you access to some endgame stuff, in other words. NaNoWriMo also holds a few contests that, if you win, can draw attention to your work and get a little boost.

It’s all little stuff, but that’s what a career is built on: a whole bunch of little stuff. Personally, I’m a lot better at the writing part of this whole process than the entrepreneurial side of it that forces you to market your work yourself. These tools, and Camp, make the writing part of it even easier, which means I can devote the majority of angst and frustration to the hard side of things. Every little bit helps.

And an update on my results of the month: I did it! Made it to 50,000 words two days ago, ahead of schedule. Now I’m plugging away to a) finish my novel, and b) help boost my cabin word count to see if we can’t make that work.

