Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been in the middle of a crisis (more details on that Wednesday), and as such I haven’t had any time to work on my writing platform, or do research into what I should do next for said platform. That doesn’t mean I haven’t worked on it at all.

Part of a writing platform and the media presence it requires is just agreeing to be involved in select forms of social media at regular intervals. This is hard when stuff comes up, and I don’t mean “I have work on Monday” stuff. I mean “someone’s in the hospital and my brain turned off the minute I heard the word cancer” stuff. This kind of #&* happens whether we want it to or not, and it kind of throws a wrench in everything else.

That’s where habit is so important. There are things that should only happen when you have the time and focus to really work on it. There are other things that need to happen on a regular basis, by rote. What these things are depends on your personal situation, abilities and work focus.

Mine include:

  • Pinning on Pinterest daily
  • Writing two blog posts a week
  • Comment/follow 1-2 blogs a week

It’s amazing how difficult those three things get when life turns upside down. All I know is without my to-do list I never would have gotten anything done this week. Instead, I wrote two blog posts from unusual locations, checked Pinterest, and commented on a few different sites. It wasn’t a lot, and I wasn’t exactly actively growing my platform, but I got those few things done.

I didn’t read any books about blogging, I didn’t brainstorm for future posts, and I didn’t look into creating a Facebook page or improving my website. Those things take time, creative energy, and a more secure Internet connection than the one I had.

There’s only one rule when it comes to platforming when crap happens. Fall back on habit, on the essentials, and save the rest for next week. Find the important stuff, and do that until life allows a return to the other stuff.

It’s not a permanent solution, but it’s important to remember that it’s allowed. As important as it is to me to build my writing career, this week I needed a breather, so I took it.

Save

