Tags

, , ,

A few weeks ago I started a quest to figure out Pinterest as a function of my writer’s platform (see? right here). That quest is nowhere near completed, but I have learned a lot, and the point of this blog is to share what I learn.  I’m still learning how to apply all this stuff, and part of that is learning which techniques work for me, but there are a few basic ideas that keep cropping up, so hopefully this will shed a little light for anyone else looking into Pinterest.

First step: make it a business account, which I didn’t even know was a thing. This should be a separate account from my personal Pinterest. No wedding dream boards here (unless for the purposes of planning a character’s wedding).

Step two: decide what kind of content is going on the account. My particular focus will be finding material I find interesting or relevant to my WIPs, with not much original content being posted. Hopefully that will change eventually, but it’s a good idea to decide what will be going into the account early on.

Step three (which is interchangeable with step two): pick a theme and keep it focused. As a piece of a platform, my Pinterest needs to have a focused tone and theme, as much as a blog or any other social media account would. This is a part of my brand, and while it doesn’t have to show the same side of me as the other media I use, it should be consistent with what I present in general.

That’s it for steps. The rest of the stuff I learned was general practices to keep in mind going forward. Like…

  • Make my profile summary keyword-happy, to direct my desired audience to content they’ll hopefully find useful
  • Keep boards organized and in line with the overall theme of the account and with the purpose of each board
  • Prominently feature my own content, as in the stuff that I personally got onto Pinterest (like book images or blog posts or infographics)
  • Pin good stuff (which should go without saying, but it’s super important to make each pin be the best quality possible)
  • Make descriptions clear, for the boards and for the pins, so that people know what they’re looking at
  • Pin the things that I like as an author, but also pin things that will appeal to my audience (this isn’t just for my eyes, but for general consumption)

So that’s what I’ve learned, plus Rule Number One: Be Active! It doesn’t have to be a whole lot, and it’s actually better not to do information dumps, but use the account.

