Tags

, , ,

This week has not been kind to my sleep schedule, and it’s not even over yet. Which doesn’t make it a bad week, but it does mean I’m exhausted and I’m determined to conserve a little energy for the activities I have left, so this post will be short.

I’ve been reading about how to choose images for blog posts. Well, skimming, and only the top choices that come up on a Google search. (I am lazy, and while I’m a little ashamed of my lack of effort concerning research I am honest and I did say this would be a short post.) What I learned can be summarized in a brief list.

1. In today’s highly visual society, it’s a really good idea to have photos for posts.

2. It has to be a photo you can legally use.

3. It is better not to have a picture at all than use one that has nothing to do with the post at hand. It can be a stretch, but it has to have some relevance, even if you have to splice in an awkward reference somewhere.

4. Not generic, because that’s boring and like #3 would actually hurt the blog post by including it.

5. Don’t go too big. Again, make sure it’s relevant and not just a really big picture of a spectacular scene that will take forever to load and makes the blog look weird.

Well, I can honestly say I have not been considering most of the items on that list. But I want to improve my blog. I guess I’ll be working on this for a while.

Originally I was going to use a picture of a kitten with a flower crown for this post because it was cute, but that didn’t have anything to do with my post at all (aside from being an object lesson in terms of irrelevance to the topic at hand). So, to that end, this blog post has no picture because I just couldn’t find one that, to my mind, had any relevance to the topic at hand. I’ll have to practice inserting little quips and references and things into my posts in the future, but for today, this is enough.

Here’s the sites I got most of my information from on my quest.

http://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/blog-post-image-selection

http://www.blogtyrant.com/blog-images/

