Tags

, , , ,

Respawned, the story I’ve been working on since November, is finished. More accurately, the first draft is finished, which means that in a few months there will be notes to make and editing to do and all kinds of new things to worry about, but for now my story is done, and I will rejoice.

Here’s the synopsis I came up with for NaNoWriMo. Miraculously, it still fits the book.

Ben’s life is subject to a rather painful routine: he walks around Conroy Forest, gets attacked by people drastically more powerful than him, dies horribly and then wakes up under the same maple tree he always does. Stand up, repeat the process, over and over ad nauseum. He’s been told it’s his role in life because he’s a bandit, whatever that is.

Quite frankly, he’s getting bored. Ben’s tired of dying, and so he’s about to step out into the wide, violent world of Thelandia and see what happens when a simple spawn character takes control of his life.

I’m looking for a critique partner, so there’s a contact page on my site now if anyone’s interested. Here it is!

Since it took me so long to finish the darned thing, I’m not taking a break from writing in general (in fact, I still have about 1000 words if I want to beat Camp NaNoWriMo so stopping now would be counterproductive). There are a few ways to take a break, though.

  1. Send people the copy of the book they’ve been begging for since January. (If I forgot anyone, please tell me. I forget a lot of things.)
  2. Rejoice in the fact that while the ending felt off by the time I finished, the beginning is still good (at least according to friends and family, who while biased would also tell me if it was really really bad).
  3. Eat another Jolly Rancher. (I was shopping, it was there, I wanted a reward. Watermelon is the best!)
  4. Work on the short story I am now very motivated to write because I wrote 100,000 words.
  5. Promise myself not to spend so much time online and do the more productive kinds of time wasting like watching TV and reading books (which involves stories and examining characters so it’s fun and semi-writing work).
  6. Organize the files on my computer (which may or may not involve 5-10 minutes of looking adoringly at the little icons that represent each one of my books).
  7. Read a book about fantasy worlds and start thinking about how to enhance my book’s world. (Hint: it involves inventing historical figures who do ridiculous things.)
  8. Look through my file of story ideas and start vetting what the next one might be. (I’m torn between the pirate story and the teenage supervillain who goes to high school.)
  9. Renew the pledge not to go online until I’ve at least pretended to work.
  10. Forget the pledge. Pinterest!
  11. No! No Pinterest!
  12. Pinterest!!!! Ooo. Or Tumblr.
  13. I’ll fight you!!

…..

I lost that battle. But it’s okay, because I wrote most of this post first. (By the way, I actually have a Pinterest page full of images that I refer to when I work on my books. It’s here and I’m still working on making the image captions have more to do with my books. Pinterest is fun!

(I also searched diligently for my cover photo. I’m not 100% sure I’m really correlating them to my posts all that well, but it’s still a nice picture) (Is there a rule that says that the pictures have to have something to do with the post, or can I just put up flowers that I like? Can anyone tell me?)

