Tags

, ,

On one hand, it can be very discouraging as a writer to look at the thousands and thousands of books available out there. Ecclesiastes comes to mind: “Nothing new under the sun” and all that. On the other hand, the state of literature and stories has been this saturated for a while and so there are thousands of blog posts out there declaring that while my plot might borrow from a lot of different tropes, it’s not identical to any of these other stories and even if it is I’ve got my own voice. But, even better than that, those thousands of books out there mean that if I need a helping hand, there will probably be a book for that.

Like in this case, where I’m trying to figure out a writing platform. There’s something to be said for simple titles, so How to Blog a Book, by Nina Amir, is quite obviously something I can use for guidance as I write this blog. From the two chapters I’ve read so far, I’m pretty sure it focuses more on nonfiction books than fiction (which is definitely my preferred style) but it’s still definitely about using a blog to promote a book in the works. That, I like. I’m looking forward to learning more about the whole process.

To be honest, I probably should have spent a lot more time educating myself on how a blog works before I started. Of course, what probably would have happened then was that I would have spent a lot of time and energy researching how to create the perfect blog, discovered that such a thing is impossible, and then given up out of frustration. With this blog already going, I’m forcing myself to work on it because if I don’t make it look good it kind of goes on my permanent record.

At this point, the important thing is really that I’m trying (even if I have to learn as I go).

